having issues with win7 premium sp1

Windows 7 Releases Both (x86) And (x64)
webhostau
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 5:24 am

having issues with win7 premium sp1

Postby webhostau » Sun Jun 26, 2016 9:08 am

hi guys,

I heard some good things about the autopatcher but not taking a long time to download.
I have hardwired cable plugged in with 100bps.

Your support is appreciated.
Thanks

User avatar
TheAPGuy
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 966
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:38 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: having issues with win7 premium sp1

Postby TheAPGuy » Sun Jun 26, 2016 11:39 pm

Your speed should only be limited by M$ and your connection. I have 50Mbps and it can take a while to download M$ updates. How slow is it for you?

webhostau
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 5:24 am

Re: having issues with win7 premium sp1

Postby webhostau » Mon Jun 27, 2016 12:59 pm

It starts downloading and keeps on downloading.. never finishes-

webhostau
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 5:24 am

Re: having issues with win7 premium sp1

Postby webhostau » Mon Jun 27, 2016 1:01 pm

windows 7 home premium on Toshiba Satelite . Dont really want to do a fresh install if possible.

ChrisJ
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:32 am

Re: having issues with win7 premium sp1

Postby ChrisJ » Mon Jun 27, 2016 1:49 pm

Windows 7 x86 script is roughly 739MB in size, Windows 7 x64 script is roughly 1.22GB in size. You will need to determine how long this would take normally, as TAPG has mentioned, it depends on your particular connection speed and the Microsoft servers.

99% of the files come from Microsoft directly - load either script in a browser tab and have a look:
... http://www.autopatcher.net/releases/sev ... 623.script
... http://www.autopatcher.net/releases/sev ... 623.script

Are you making progress in the \modules directory of your AutoPatcher install - are files downloading - there should be?
If you stop downloading, when you resume downloading does the autopatcher.log file show fewer files to download - it should?

When downloading, at what rate 50kbps, 75kbps, 500kbps - 0kbps? If you don't know how to tell, Softperfect's Networx is a great free portable tool that can help -> https://www.softperfect.com/products/networx/

If the answer is no to either or both you have a connection issue, possibly security software is interferring somewhere. Can you download files using a download manager?

"Don't really want to do a fresh install if possible" - fresh install of your OS, starting fresh with AutoPatcher? Can't really determine this, for sure not an OS reinstall based on the very little bit of info you've provided - but I doubt you need to unless you know something you're not telling :)

webhostau
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 5:24 am

Re: having issues with win7 premium sp1

Postby webhostau » Mon Jun 27, 2016 2:14 pm

yes, still working this out. Looks like the church laptop hasnt seen the internet from day one lol

webhostau
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 5:24 am

Re: having issues with win7 premium sp1

Postby webhostau » Mon Jun 27, 2016 2:18 pm

with the cable plugged in, the wifi symbol is still showing

webhostau
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 5:24 am

Re: having issues with win7 premium sp1

Postby webhostau » Mon Jun 27, 2016 2:21 pm

i can browse the internet with chrome yes. Downloads also no problems.

ChrisJ
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:32 am

Re: having issues with win7 premium sp1

Postby ChrisJ » Mon Jun 27, 2016 4:58 pm

Hi webhostau :)

Hope you get it sorted out.

If/when you have time, if you're still trying to get AutoPatcher going on the church laptop, providing some feedback about what if anything is downloading to the \modules folder and uploading an autopatcher.log will be a big help. If there's wifi available from a local library you might give that a try as well, assuming you can take the laptop away from the church.

Anyway, we'll keep trying to get you going.

User avatar
TheAPGuy
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 966
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:38 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: having issues with win7 premium sp1

Postby TheAPGuy » Tue Jun 28, 2016 1:36 am

hmm.. maybe the laptop is NOT useing the faster connection? You say with the Ethernet cord plugged in it still sees wireless? Perhaps it is only using the slower wireless.

Often it is best to download all the stuff using your own computer (generally it has a faster connection), load the entire directory to a dvd/usb and bring it to the target computer. Copy it to the computer in the case of a DVD or run it strait from the USB stick/drive/card if on a 2.0 and higher.


Return to “Windows 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest