Ran as administrator, AP fails finding OCX?

Requests for help go in here.
undro
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 2:36 am

Ran as administrator, AP fails finding OCX?

Postby undro » Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:44 pm

Running AP normally works, but as administrator it fails on startup to find an OCX.
Process Monitor does show it using RICHTX32.OCX from SysWOW64, so I'm not sure what's the problem.

Code: Select all

Autopatcher v6.2.22 ! ADMIN ! Has Started at 10/07/2017 03:27:04 PM

Starting Autopatcher From E:\tmp

Checking if OCX Files are registered.


Checking if an update is already running.
How the heck did I get an error here!?!
Error Detected: Component 'RICHTX32.OCX' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid APInitialize.PrimaryInit() At Line 104

User avatar
TheAPGuy
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 966
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:38 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Ran as administrator, AP fails finding OCX?

Postby TheAPGuy » Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:42 pm

That is.... pretty damn interesting.
just for confirmation can you show the log from a normal start up?

undro
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 2:36 am

Re: Ran as administrator, AP fails finding OCX?

Postby undro » Tue Oct 10, 2017 4:54 pm

This is as non-admin:

Code: Select all

Autopatcher v6.2.22 Has Started at 10/10/2017 04:21:23 PM

Starting Autopatcher From E:\tmp

Checking if OCX Files are registered.


Checking if an update is already running.
Parsing Detected Commandline Arguments...
All Detected Arguments Processed

Detected OS: English (1033) Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro X64
Current Locale: (redacted) / Non-Unicode Default: English

checking for obsolete files...


And by the way, or another Win 8.1 computer it runs fine as admin.

User avatar
TheAPGuy
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 966
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:38 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Ran as administrator, AP fails finding OCX?

Postby TheAPGuy » Thu Oct 12, 2017 2:42 am

ok run it in admin with /debug

to do this make a shortcut of it.
Right click on it and select "create shortcut"
The right click on the new shortcut and hit properties
Find the edit box marked target. edit the text at the end so it says...

Code: Select all

AutoPatcher.exe" /debug
hit ok.
Right click and run as admin

post as much of your possibly 5k log as you can.

edit:
hmmm thinking about this... it may give up before reaching the information stage.

you could also try re-registering the ocx file. It registers the same way a dll does.
http://www.ctimls.com/Support/KB/How%20 ... er_dll.htm

undro
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 2:36 am

Re: Ran as administrator, AP fails finding OCX?

Postby undro » Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:15 pm

Tried registering the OCX under SysWOW64 with regsvr32. Same result.
And yes, the log is the same with /debug.

One difference I see with Process Monitor is that when it fails there's no access to RICHED20.DLL, unlike when it works.

Another tidbit I noticed: while the log complains about line 104, the error popup message box complains about line 114:

Code: Select all

ERROR: Component 'RICHTX32.OCX' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid at line 114 . Error #: 339

User avatar
TheAPGuy
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 966
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:38 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Ran as administrator, AP fails finding OCX?

Postby TheAPGuy » Sat Oct 14, 2017 10:37 pm

lets see... taking more detailed look at the code gives...
"How the heck did I get an error here!?!" that comes from only one place in the code and really... I set that because... that code "should" not get an error. All that function does is figure out if it should echo a comment in the code to the log or not depending on the verbosity settings. It is literally one line. So I am guessing the error is actually being echoed from somewhere else after the fact but, not getting caught till this point.
"APInitialize.PrimaryInit() At Line 104 " should also not error out since it is just placing a "Starting Autopatcher From <directory> at <time/date>" in the log. ohh hmm... it is also doing it to the richtextbox. That requires RICHTX32.OCX.

I have not the slightest clue where it is giving error code 114.

here is another version. It will probably error out too but, has more error code in it as well as a fixed up section that was not supposed to let errors pass though like it did.
autopatcher.zip
v6.2.23
(284.87 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Run this and see if we get some different results in the error messages.


Return to “Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests